Republic Day 2023: The History of India

Republic Day’s history.

The Indian Constitution was formally passed on January 26, 1950, and this milestone is honored on Republic Day. India was free from the British Raj in 1947, but it wasn’t until January 26, 1950, that the Indian Constitution went into effect, establishing India as an independent state and a republic.

The inaugural meeting of the Constituent Assembly took place on December 9, 1946, and its final session was held on November 26, 1949, also known as Constitution Day.

The spirit of India’s freedom is honored on Republic Day.

The Constitution was then legally ratified on January 26, 1950, after the Indian National Congress declared Purna Swaraj (indigenous sovereignty) at its conference on the banks of the Ravi in Lahore on January 26, 1930, signaling the end of colonial rule.

Additionally, Republic Day celebrates Indian citizens’ ability to choose a democratically controlled government.

The nation recognizes it as a national holiday to honor the creation of the Indian Constitution.

Celebrations for Republic Day

Every year on January 26, India commemorates its Republic Day. The citizens of the country can celebrate the 74th Republic Day on Thursday, which can be both similar and distinct.

This time, President Draupadi Murmu’s maiden can unfurl the tricolor on the newly inaugurated Kartavya Path to kick off the festivities.

Every year, millions of Indians tune in to watch the rich tradition, cultural legacy, spectacle of the country’s progress and successes, and airshows by the Indian Army, Navy, and Air Force.

Furthermore, the public is welcome to attend activities on Kartavya Path, such as the Republic Day Parade rehearsal, parade, and Beating the Retreat ritual.

Republic Day is celebrated with considerable zeal throughout the country. The president raises the national flag, which is followed by stunning military and cultural spectacles from many states and government ministries.

Additionally, the Paramvir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, and Vir Chakra are awarded by the President of India.

Brave warriors and the Padma Awards are given to outstanding citizens of the country.

The Republic Day Parade is telecast live each year to millions of viewers.


The 74th Republic Day celebrations will feature Abdel Fattah Al Sisi, the president of Egypt, as the Guest of Honor. He will march in the R-Day Parade with a 120-member Egyptian contingent.

A second-generation Army officer with the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, Lieutenant General Dhiraj Seth, will lead the Republic Day 2023 Parade. As the Parade Second-in-Command, Major General Bhavnish Kumar, Chief of Staff, HQ Delhi Area, would be in charge. Starting at around 10:00 AM, the Republic Day Parade. It broadcast live on state-run stations like Doordarshan and Sansad TV. It is available on AIR for active radio listeners.

The R-Day Parade will start at Vijay Chowk and end at the Historic Red Fort, passing by the Tilak Marg, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, Netaji Subash Marg, the C-Hexagon, and the roundabout with the statue of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose.

Among the numerous firsts will be the 21-gun salute with 105-mm Indian Field Guns. It takes the place of the antique 25-pounder gun, signifying the increasing ‘Atma Nirbharta’ in defense. The aerial display will feature nine Rafale aircraft beside the Navy’s IL-38, which will be displayed for the first and maybe final time.

Another significant feature of this year’s Republic Day parade is a team of “Daredevils”.

Motorcycle Riders from the Corps of Signals co-led by a female officer. Women will join the BSF Camel Contingent for the first time.


Happy Republic Day All

Thank You!